The Board of Trustees is responsible for seven key work areas in the school, which are:

  • development and ongoing review of the school charter.

  • monitoring and reviewing your school’s progress.

  • putting in place a policy framework.

  • employing the principal.

  • managing assets.

  • ensuring your school’s legal compliance.

  • implementing the National Education Guidelines

The Minister of Education appoints an EBoT to every new school that is being established. Our EBoT was appointed in June 2021 and it is likely to be in place until June 2023.

The process for appointing an EBoT starts with the Ministry advertising for expressions of interest from people with the required skills and experience who wish to put their names forward for the EBoT.

  • An EBoT has five members and can co-opt up to four other members to support its operation. The Ministry appoints a governance facilitator to support the EBoT. Once a principal is appointed, they will also become part of the EBoT.

  • The EBoT’s role is to oversee and assist in the process of setting up a new school.

  • It stays in place for as long as it is required to ensure the new school has the best possible start it can. This is usually about three to six months after the opening of the school, at which time elections are held for the Board of Trustees.

  • The EBoT receives grants to operate and to set the school up and equip it.

  • The EBoT is responsible for much of the work that will produce a functioning teaching and learning organisation, including: – working with the community to develop a vision for the school – involving the community in the development of the school and keeping them up to date with progress – working with the Ministry and contractors on the design and construction of the buildings and grounds – developing a staffing plan, advertising for staff and appointing the staff – establishing systems and procedures – preparing enrolment information for new students.

We are extremely fortunate at Ahutoetoe School to have a very experienced group of education specialists who make up our board. The members of our Establishment Board of Trustees are:

Natalie Todd Presiding member (Chair) Principal of Wairau Valley Special School

Richard Winder Board Member Principal of Northern Health School

Alan Curtis Board Member School Trustees Advisor

Christine Stuart Board Member Ex-Principal of Ararimu School

Nicole Varadi Board Member Real Estate Consultant & former teacher

Julien Le Sueur Governance Facilitator Ministry of Education

The BOT can be contacted at admin@ahutoetoe.school.nz


Are you interested in becoming a board member of Ahutoetoe School in 2023?

Please follow this link to read more about being a board member - Education.govt.nz For Parents and Whānau


Connect ... Nurture ... Inspire

Hono ... Poipoi ... Hiringa


Gates open: 8.30am

School day: 9.00am – 3.00pm

Brain Food: 10.00am – 10.10am

Morning tea 11.00am – 11.20am

Lunch: 12.50pm – 1.30pm


Email: admin@ahutoetoe.school.nz

Phone: 022 357 3504


Term 1
Wednesday 1st February - Thursday 6th April
Waitangi Day – observed 6th Feb

Good Friday – 7th April
Easter Monday – 1
0th April

Term 2
Monday 24th April - Friday 30th June

Anzac Day – 25th April
Queens Birthday – 5th June

Matariki – 14th July

Term 3
Monday 17th July - Friday 22nd September

Term 4
Monday 9th October - Friday 15th December
Labour Day – 2
3rd October